Me and Millennial Balls

Welcome to the Grand MEGA Millennial Balls!

Jojo the Love Survivor, Boys Night Out

Yep, that’s what he said.

Ahhh, one of the best nights of my life to date.

If you’ve known me for long, you’d know the fascination I’ve always had for showbiz. Yeah, the whole industry is pretty much toxic, in front of and behind the camera, but there’s just something about it that keeps you hooked. Something about their lives, that keeps your eyes focused on the television.

The night of Independence Day 2017, June 12, was a night my eyes got focused on the same exact cameras that focused on them. I was able to go to a famous fashion magazine’s Independence Day Ball, they called it the MEGA Millennial Ball: The NEW PH, a ball dedicated to the new generation that’s bringing changes into the country that will soon shape Philippines into the modern country it will be.

thenewph.jpg

As an intern for Magic 89.9, an fm radio station here in the Philippines, I got assigned to be part of the team that will cover the night’s red carpet event. We’ll interview local celebrities and get to dish out some fun, fresh questions for them to answer.

It was the best time ever!

For me, nothing beats the thrill of being behind a camera than being in front of it, being in charge of how the team will work and the whole responsibility resting on your shoulders—I live for that. So, taking clips of Pia Wurtzbach, Megan Young, James Reid and Nadine Lustre, Sarah Lahbati, in the front lines, my heart was ramming so hard against my chest in pure excitement.

The whole evening, adrenaline coursed through my veins, I didn’t even realize that I haven’t eaten anything yet! After the initial red carpet, we were also allowed passes in the lounge area where the celebrities get drinks, talk in those tall tables that don’t have chairs.

I’m not too caught up in the whole fan thing, especially among local celebrities, but being face to face with Kylie Versoza…whew, that was an experience.

It was so surreal because I went through four years of college envisioning a career in media and that night was like, here it is, this is it. The whole four years somehow brought me to this, and it didn’t disappoint.

Of course, production-wise, it wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies—we lacked batteries for the cameras and some of our shots were shitty and some big time TV company kept shoving our team to the side, it still somehow felt good. Because it’s real. That’s how harsh media is, that’s how toxic the industry is, but being exposed to that when for four years I was only told about it, felt good.

There was some surprise even after we finished our whole coverage. It was about 9:30 in the evening, we were famished, only realizing how hungry we were and were told that the buffet for the media was long over. We slumped on the tables thinking, nooooooo.

Then, Sir Jojo, our savior, came. He told us to come inside the actual ballroom to eat. Yeah, like sit two tables away from Ylonah Garcia.

We ate expensive steak, had really good wine, all the while underdressed! Ha! Everyone else were in suits and gowns and the whole and I were wearing black jeans and shirts.

It was nice. Really nice. Too nice I don’t know how to describe it anymore. It was for the books yeah.

Yeah! I also got to ask James Reid and Kylie Versoza for video greets for my Mom because her birthday was in June 13. Ahh..

Yep. Millennial Balls suit me, I love ‘em. Hopefully, I’d get to go next year as well, as part of another team.


all the stars, semi

Leave a Reply

