why is everyone color blind?

these colors don’t fit me;
why is everyone color blind?

a friend said I was blue all over,
and I stepped back to check myself.
in my vision, not an inch of me was in that color,
I was fine, I was happy, I didn’t need any help.
yet he insisted I was blue
and force-painted me in yellow,
saying I need some brightness in my life too,
that I should box and throw away my sorrow.

another said she saw purple in my eyes,
and that it’s poisoning my vision,
showing me illusions of grandeur,
feeding into my ambitions.
so she washed away the purple,
that was really the color orange,
and there goes my hopes and dreams,
slowly flowing down the drain.

and now there is red on my wrists,
on my chest and on my head,
yet everyone looks at me like I’m the same,
just because it left no stains on my bed.
the red spreads and I wonder,
is no one seeing this?
maybe if I scream harder,
would anyone notice?

these colors don’t fit me;
why is everyone color blind?

Or maybe instead of just being color blind,
their eyes really can’t see me.
and now I walk amongst them
colorless and unseen.


all the stars, semi

2 thoughts on “why is everyone color blind?

Leave a Reply

